The Aiteo CAF Awards held on the 4th of January in Ghana with a host of vibrant famous artists such as Flavour, Fali pupa, olamide, Tiwa Savage and Wizkid thrilling the crowd with the recent smash hit songs while the awards were being given out to worthy winners who have done Africa proud both locally and internationally.


Going home with the Grand Prize as the African footballer of the year award was Mohammed Salah who beat Liverpool teammate Sadio mane and Pierre Emerick Aubumeyang to the coveted award.

The female footballer of the year was won by an emotional Asisat Oshoala of Nigeria beating off competition from Gabrielle Onguene of Cameroon and Cska Moscow and Christiana Kgatiana of South Africa and UWC ladies.


Hector Cuper of Egypt bagged the CAF Coach of the year award ahead of Gernot Rohr of Nigeria and L’hussein Amoutta of Wydad athletic club.

Other awards included Team of the year Which was won by Egypt after stiff competition from Cameroon and Nigeria. Female team of the year was won by South Africa with Nigeria U20 and Ghana U20 as runners-up.

Patson Daka bagged the Aiteo CAF youth player of the year beating off salam Giddou and Krepin Diatta.
Wydad Casablanca won the African Team of the year ahead of other nominees, Al Ahly and TP Masembe.

New President-elect of Liberia George Weah was honored with the platinum award though he wasn’t in attendance, he was duly represented by the First Lady. Nana Akufo-Addo was also presented a Platinum award which we dedicated to Ghana.

The last award saw Sunday Ibrahim given the Aiteo CAF Legendary award, Sunday Ibrahim is a Nigerian footballer who played in the Ekstraklasa in Poland for Wisła Kraków, KSZO Ostrowiec Świętokrzyski, and Zagłębie Lubin. He also played in his native Nigeria, in China, and in Norway.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here